Music News

MIAMI GARDENS, FLORIDA - JULY 25: Lil Uzi Vert performs on stage during Rolling Loud at Hard Rock Stadium on July 25, 2021 in Miami Gardens, Florida.

Lil Uzi Vert will no longer be making their Saturday Night Live debut amid the current WGA strike. The “Just Wanna Rock” rapper’s SNL appearance featuring them as the musical guest has been canceled given that the sketch comedy show will not be producing any more episodes for Season 48 during the ongoing strike.

SNL usually runs new episodes until the end of May.  Due to the strike, it will now be airing reruns for the time being according to Variety. This also affects Pete Davidson.  The former cast member was billed to host the May 6 episode in promotion of his NBC sitcom Bupkis.

The WGA strike was announced to begin at 12:01 a.m. on Tuesday, May 2. The Alliance of Motion Picture and Television Producers were “unable to come to an agreement with the union on matters of related to staffing, wages, and AI usage,” per Pitchfork. The length of the strike is unclear at this time.

RELATED: Lil Uzi Vert Gets Tongue Tattoo & Another On His Forehead

In other Uzi news, the Generation Now artist’s “Strawberry Peels” lawsuit is officially over. Legal documents obtained by HipHopDX state that Sun City Publishing reached a settlement agreement with Atlantic Recording Corporation (which the Generation Now imprint is under).

Sun City Publishing is reportedly the owner of the rights to Blackout’s 1995 song “Dim Da Lights.” They alleged that it was sampled without consent in “Strawberry Peels.” While terms of the agreement were not disclosed, the parties “reached an agreement in principle for the resolution of this action, in its entirety, and that they anticipate filing within thirty days their Stipulation to the dismissal of this action,” according to the order.

“Strawberry Peels” features Gunna and Young Thug. The record was produced by Wheezy and appears on Uzi’s Eternal Atake album, which dropped in 2020.

Take a walk down memory lane and listen to the track from Uzi’s official YouTube here:

The Best Hip-Hop and R&B Songs Of April 2023, Ranked

  • 10. "Da Girls" (Remix) - Ciara ft. Lola Brooke and Lady London

    Ciara enlisted Lola Brooke and Lady London for the remix of “Da Girls.” This was the first time all three artists linked up on a record. “Lola and Lady London are special,” Ciara said about the two rising emcees per RatedRNB. “They each bring a unique star quality to everything they do. From the tone of their voices to the fire verses, they spoke life into this record for all da girls around the world.”

  • 9. "Give It To Me" - Miguel

    Miguel is back with a new single titled “Give It To Me.” The R&B artist has not released a full-length project since 2017’s War & Leisure. His last project was his 2021 EP Art Dealer Chic Vol. 4. However, his 2010 single “Sure Thing,” went viral on TikTok this year and currently sits at No. 15 on the Billboard Hot 100.

  • 8. "Chemical" - Post Malone

    Post Malone dropped his first song of 2023 with “Chemical.” The New York native just finished touring last year in support of his 2022 LP Twelve Carat Toothache. “Chemical” is different from the artist’s usual sound as it has upbeat pop-rock elements introduced. The new record will act as the lead single to the rapper’s upcoming fifth studio album.

  • 7. "Alone" - Kim Petras ft. Nicki Minaj

    Nicki Minaj joined Kim Petras for “Alone” marking their first collaboration together. For Nicki, this follows her feature on Ice Spice’s “Princess Diana.” “Alone” is Petras’ second single of 2023 following her record “brrr” which was released in January.

  • 6. "Double Fantasy" - The Weeknd ft. Future

    For The Weeknd’s upcoming HBO drama The Idol, he and Future linked up to create “Double Fantasy.” The Weeknd performed it for the first time during Metro Boomin’s Coachella set. “Double Fantasy” marks The Weeknd and Future’s fifth collaboration after the two first came together as featured artists on producer Mike WiLL Made-It‘s 2015 single “Drinks on Us,” which also featured Swae Lee.

  • 5. "Kill Bill" Remix - SZA ft. Doja Cat

    Doja Cat hopped on SZA’s SOS hit “Kill Bill” making it her first 2023 appearance. The two previously collaborated on the Grammy-winning “Kiss Me More.” SZA earned her first No. 1 Billboard hit with the original “Kill Bill” this month.

  • 4. "Empire State Of Mind" Remix - Jay-Z

    Jay-Z remixed his 2009 hit “Empire State of Mind.” The hip-hop icon performed the remixed version in Paris at the Louis Vuitton Foundation to mark the opening of the “Basquiat x Warhol. Painting Four Hands” exhibition. The new version has been officially released which features Gil Scott-Heron’s iconic I’m New Here song “New York Is Killing Me.” The original “Empire State Of Mind” features Alicia Keys. The song was nominated for three awards but won Best Rap/Sung Collaboration and Best Rap Song at the 53rd Grammy Awards ceremony. The song was originally on Jay’s The Blueprint 3.

  • 3. "Put It On Da Floor" - Latto

    Latto dropped “Put It On Da Floor” in April which fueled a beef between her and Coi Leray. The two later made amends but it ended working in the Atlanta native’s favor as she scored her first No. 1 on the Hot Trending Songs chart.

  • 2. "Search & Rescue" - Drake

    Drake dropped his first solo song of 2023 titled “Search & Rescue.” He infamously sampled Kim Kardashian on the record from her Hulu reality show The Kardashians. “Search & Rescue” debuted at No. 2 on the Billboard Hot 100.

  • 1. "Princess Diana" Remix - Ice Spice ft. Nicki Minaj

    The People’s Princess and the Queen linked up for a remix of the Bronx native’s “Princess Diana.” The “Princess Diana” remix debuted at No.1 on this week’s Digital Song Sales chart making it Ice Spice’s first and Nicki’s 14th No.1 hit. The song debuted at No. 4 on the Billboard Hot 100.